This is not a review, it’s just a link to an unusually structured novel.  At the time I read this I was living in London and travelling the underground every day to work, so I could picture the novel in detail.

253 is about the people aboard seven London Underground carriages.  It is told in a non-linear way.  There is a diagram of each carriage and you click on each seat to find out about the person sitting there.  I think finding out what each person is thinking and worrying about is interesting; I’ve often amused myself by trying to imagine other peoples stories, and here, someone has done it for me!  At first, all the people seem disconnected but slowly the connections build up until the suprising conclusion.

Not the sort of novel to read all at once, but a great way to pass some time each day.

