Shaun Tan writes and illustrates beautiful non-typical picture books, that are equally as rewarding for adults and children.

My favourite is The Arrival, a wordless graphic novel that nearly made me cry.  I had never thought of myself as an immigrant before, having moved by choice from NZ to the UK, and then to Australia; but that is what I am, and I really identified with some of the situations the protagonist finds himself in.

My second favourite book is Tales from Outer Suburbia, a collection of short stories written and illustrated by Shaun Tan.  The stories are beautiful and gently moving, about:

the quiet mysteries of everyday life: homemade pets, dangerous weddings, stranded sea mammals, tiny exchange students and secret rooms filled with darkness and delight.

The story of Eric (the tiny exchange student) can be read here, and there is an interview with Shaun Tan here.

Shaun Tan: Tales from Outer Suburbia

