I came across some instructions for baking biscuits (or cookies for the North Americans) in a car. 

Car-Baked Chocolate Chip Cookies

These would be so easy to make in a Queensland summer, but reading further,  two comments caught my eye:

  1. What about the chemicals that are released inside a car when it’s very hot?
  2. Afterwards, how long does the car smell like baking for?

I’ve been thinking about these for a while and I’ve come to the conclusion that:

  1. In an old car the amount of chemicals released would be less than a new car (because old cars don’t have that ‘new car smell’), and as long as you don’t eat the biscuits all the time you should be OK.
  2. For the coolness/awesomeness/fun of baking in a car, I can put up with the lingering smell.

Now I just have to wait for summer so I can try this!